3 pieces of linoleum (2 carved) + printing in 3 colors = One pretty peacock linocut print!

I’ve been wanting to carve a peacock and thought it has to be done as a multiple color linocut.  I prefer using the method of multiple blocks rather than reduction because I like to have the ability to print the plates in the future with a different color scheme.

Here’s the peacock photo I used as inspiration, the blocks I carved (although the blue block was left solid and I have some variation in the density of the blue until I got what I was looking for) and the final print after printing 3 colors (first blue, then yellow, then black).   I printed 15 and will have an edition of 10 with 5 artist proofs.

I love printmaking!

peacock-print peacock-LNM

Leave a Reply

